

# Thresholds and Best Practices for Parenteral and Ophthalmic Drug Products (PODP)

# February 2011 Workshop

# **Acknowledgments**

In 2006, the Product Quality Research Institute's (PQRI) Leachables and Extractables for Orally Inhaled and Nasal Drug Products (OINDP) Working Group established Thresholds and Best Practices that revolutionized the safety qualification process for these dosage forms by providing clear, concise, coherent, and comprehensive strategies and tactics for safety assessment. The success of these strategies has led to the proposal for Reporting and Qualification Thresholds for Leachables in PODP, submitted to the PQRI Steering Committee in March 2007. The proposal was approved and the Work Plan entitled *Development of Scientifically Justifiable Thresholds and Best Demonstrated Characterization Practices for Leachables and Extractables in Parenterals and Ophthalmic Drug Products (PODP)* was submitted and subsequently approved in April 2008.

The PODP Working Group has moved forward, guided by the principle that the OINDP recommendations could be transformed into PODP recommendations by considering such factors as dose, duration, patient populations, and other product/user attributes. Toxicologists considered the safety profiles of nearly 500 known extractables/leachables compounds and analytical chemists examined extractable analysis methods for characterizing materials commonly utilized in PODP packaging systems. Both groups of scientists utilized the generated information to begin the process of drafting PODP recommendations. The individuals responsible for the planning, data acquisition and presentation of accumulated data are acknowledged herein:

# PQRI Parenteral and Ophthalmic Drug Product (PODP) Work Group Members

## **PQRI, Development Technical Committee**

Reggie Saraceno, Ph.D., Analytical Development, Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

#### **PQRI Development Technical Committee Liaison**

Frank Holcombe, Jr., Ph.D., U.S. Food and Drug Administration

#### PODP Chai

Diane Paskiet, Associate Director Scientific Affairs, West Pharmaceutical Services, Inc.

#### **Chemistry Chair**

Dennis Jenke, Ph.D., Senior Research Scientist, Baxter HealthCare

## **Chemistry Team**

- James Castner, Senior Principal Research Scientist, Lantheus Medical Imaging
- Thomas Egert, Research Scientist, Boehringer Ingelheim Pharma GmbH & Co. KG

- Thomas Feinberg, Director, Structural Chemistry, Catalent Pharma Solutions, LLC
- Christopher Houston, Principal Scientist, Bausch & Lomb
- Desmond G. Hunt, M.S., Ph.D. Scientist,
   Department of Standards Development, USP
- Kumudini Nicholas, Generic Drugs Quality Division, Bureau of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Therapeutic Products Directorate, Health Canada
- Mike Ruberto, Ph.D., Material Needs Consulting, LLC
- Daniel Norwood, M.S.P.H., Ph.D., Distinguished Research Fellow, Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
- Edward Smith, Ph.D., Principal Consultant, Packaging Science Resources
- Michael Lynch, Ph.D., Associate Research Fellow, Pfizer

# **Toxicology Chair**

Douglas J. Ball, M.S., D.A.B.T., Research Fellow, Pfizer

# Toxicology Team

- Stephen A. Barat, Ph.D., Director, Toxicology and Operations, Forest Research Institute
- William P. Beierschmitt Ph.D., D.A.B.T, Associate Research Fellow, Pfizer, Inc.
- Jacqueline A. Kunzler, Director of Drug and Device Safety and Efficacy, Life Sciences Division, Baxter Healthcare
- Mary Richardson, Ph.D., DABT Director of Nonclinical Safety, Bausch & Lomb
- Alisa Vespa, Ph.D., Assessment Officer, Metabolic and Musculoskeletal Drugs Division, Bureau of Metabolism, Oncology and Reproductive Sciences Therapeutic Products Directorate, Health Canada



# **Chemistry Support**

Alan D. Hendricker, Ph.D., Catalent Pharma Solutions Art Shaw, Research Fellow, Pfizer

# Toxicology Support

Steve Beck, CEMDD Liaison, GlaxoSmithKline
David Jones, Principle Scientific Officer, New Chemical Entities Unit, MHRA
Brenda Seidman, Ph.D., TOX-RSA, LLC
Angela Howard, Ph.D., Cosmetic Ingredient Review
Russell Naven (QSAR [DEREK/Toxtree), Pfizer
Patricia Ellis (QSAR [DEREK/Toxtree), Pfizer

#### **Laboratory Support**

Boehringer Ingelheim
Daniel L. Norwood
Scott Pennino
James O. Mullis
Thomas Egert
Jurgen Mattes

Pfizer, Inc.
Cindy Zweiben
Miguel Sandoval
Art Shaw

David Strassburger

Bausch & Lomb
Christopher Houston
John Rider

#### <u>Baxter</u>

Roopang Shah, Research Associate II Marek Ciesla, Research Associate II Frank (Yousheng) Hua, Research Scientist

The following suppliers donated tests plates of general materials to be used specifically for demonstration of best practices and are gratefully acknowledged:

Catalent Pharma Solutions

Paul Cvetich

Kimberly Davis

Michelle Cree

Tom Feinberg

Alan Hendricker

Cameo Craft Stephane Huibers
CIBA Michael Ruberto
Schott Horst Koller
Tecknor/Apex Peter Galland
West Jeff Smythe











#### **Workshop Guest Speakers/Moderators**

Prasad Peri, Ph.D., U.S. Food and Drug Administration Ingrid Markovic, U.S. Food and Drug Administration Rajendra (Raj) Uppoor, R.Ph., Ph.D., U.S. Food and Drug Administration Linda Ng, U.S. Food and Drug Administration Anthony DeStefano, Ph.D., United States Pharmacopeia

# **PQRI Member Organizations**

#### AAPS

American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists

# Consumer Healthcare Products Association

**FDA/CDER**U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research

# U.C. 1 000 a.1

Health Canada

#### **IPAC-RS**

International Pharmaceutical Aerosol Consortium on Regulation & Science IPEC-Americas

#### IF LO-AIIIEIIC

International Pharmaceutical Excipients Council of the Americas

#### USF

United States Pharmacopeia

# **Board of Directors**

Mario L. Rocci, Jr., Ph.D., **Chair** Glenn Van Buskirk, Ph.D., **Treasurer** 

Anthony DeStefano, Ph.D.

Avraham Yacobi, Ph.D.

Rachael Roehrig, Ph.D.

#### **PQRI Steering Committee** (REPRESENTATIVE AND ALTERNATES)

Anthony DeStefano, Ph.D., Chair

#### AAPS

Lynn Van Campen, Ph.D., John Lisack, Jr., CAE, Stacey May, M.A.

# Rachael Roehrig, Ph.D., Chair Elect

#### FD/

Helen N. Winkle, Nakissa Sadrieh, Ph.D., Raj Uppoor, R.Ph., Ph.D.

#### H

Anita DiFranco

# **IPAC-RS**

Terrence Tougas, Ph.D., Mary Devlin Capizzi, Esq.

**IPEC-Americas** 

Dave Schoneker

#### USP

Kevin Hool, Ph.D.